News //

Welcome to our new 2022 Early Career Steering Committee members and announcing a new series of workshops.

4 August 2022


The MWC would like to introduce our most recent Early Career Steering Committee (ECSC) members – Dr Sandra Fitzgerald, Dr Georgia Lenihan-Geels, and Dr Debina Sarkar – who joined the committee in June this year.

The committee also farewelled outgoing members: Dr Kate Lee, Dr Catherine Tsai, Dr Simon Jackson, and Ms Theresa Alipia. The MWC and ECSC recognise and thank Kate, Catherine, Simon, and Theresa for their incredible work for the Centre and ECRs.


Dr Sandra Fitzgerald, Dr Georgia Lenihan-Geels, and Dr Debina Sarkar (in photo order)


The refreshed ECSC held their first meeting in late June to kick-start their plans for exciting new initiatives and events. The group, keen to reconnect with and support career development opportunities for MWC ECRs across the country, are thrilled to announce their first workshop series! These workshops will focus on best reporting practices and minimum information standards frequently required for publication for commonly used research technologies. The first workshop, set for September, will explore qPCR and the MIQE guidelines. More details to follow soon.

The ECSC invites MWC investigators and ECRs to share their thoughts and ideas on how they can best support you going forward. Additionally, If you have any issues that you would like to be discussed by the committee or would like to volunteer to help organise a future event, please get in touch with your committee members or the MWC Admin team at


Learn more about the Early Career Steering Committee

Read some of the news and events previously hosted by the ECSC