The Maurice Wilkins Centre is a national Centre of Research Excellence, hosted by the University of Auckland.


The University of Auckland (host)

University of Otago

University of Canterbury

Victoria University of Wellington

University of Waikato

Massey University

Auckland University of Technology

Plant and Food Ltd

AgResearch Ltd

The Institute of Environmental Science and Research

Malaghan Institute of Medical Research

National network

The Maurice Wilkins Centre draws together 24 principal investigators, more than 230 associate investigators, over 300 affiliate investigators, and 32 clinical associates, primarily from its collaborating institutions and also from other research institutions and medical organisations.

The Centre is also working to build a comprehensive network against human disease, extending from the wider medical profession through to commerical partners who can apply and add value to its scientific discoveries. Its goal is to ensure that the Centre's science addresses New Zealand needs and can be used commercially by local businesses.

Regional research centre partnership with a Māori healthcare organisation

The Maurice Wilkins Centre has partnered with The Moko Foundation to establish a research centre based in Kaitaia in the Muriwhenua region of Northland.

The partnership aligns to the Vision Mātauranga principles and aims to directly involve Māori-led health delivery organisations in the centre’s research plans. The initial focus of the centre will be on understanding the basis for the increased risks of metabolic diseases in Māori people and the implications this has for treatment.

Partnerships with Pacific healthcare organisations

MWC aims to align it's activities with several aspects of the Pacific Education Action Plan and has partnered with organisations such as Pacific Health Plus and the Tongan Health Society to support the growth of Pacific capacity and capability in biomedical science.