The Maurice Wilkins Centre is a national Centre of Research Excellence, hosted by the University of Auckland.


  • The University of Auckland (host)
  • University of Otago
  • University of Canterbury
  • Victoria University of Wellington
  • University of Waikato
  • Massey University
  • Callaghan Innovation Limited
  • Plant and Food Research
  • AgResearch
  • Malaghan Institute of Medical Research

National network

The Maurice Wilkins Centre draws together eight principal investigators, more than 140 associate investigators and 170 affiliate investigators, primarily from its collaborating institutions and also from other research institutions and medical organisations.

The Centre is also working to build a comprehensive network against human disease, extending from the wider medical profession through to commerical partners who can apply and add value to its scientific discoveries. Its goal is to ensure that the Centre's science addresses New Zealand needs and can be used commercially by local businesses.