The Maurice Wilkins Centre has taken a lead in developing scientific links with other countries, notably in Asia. Activities like these require long-term vision and commitment of resources, and the ability to work across New Zealand's institutions – attributes of Centres of Research Excellence that are of increasing value to the country.

The Centre also contributes to, and benefits from, an extensive network of national and international collaborations built by our investigators over a number of years. Research supported by the Centre has strengthened many of these existing links and helped to establish new collaborations.

Networking with countries


North America

  • Simon Fraser University (Canada)
  • University of Alberta (Canada)
  • University of British Columbia (Canada)
  • University of Victoria (Canada)
  • Albert Einstein College of Medicine (USA)
  • Baylor College of Medicine (USA)
  • Colorado State University (USA)
  • Duke University (USA)
  • Global Alliance for TB Drug Development (USA)
  • Harvard University (USA)
  • Howard Hughes Medical Institute (USA)
  • IUPS International Physiome Project (USA)
  • Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research (USA)
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology (USA)
  • Mayo Clinic (USA)
  • Medical College of Wisconsin (USA)
  • New York University (USA)
  • Pennsylvania State University (USA)
  • Proacta Inc (USA)
  • Stanford University (USA)
  • Salk Institute (USA)
  • Seattle Biomedical Research Institute (USA)
  • Texas Medical Center (USA)
  • The International TB Structural Genomics Consortium (USA)
  • The Rockefeller University (USA)
  • The Scripps Research Institute (USA)
  • The University of Chicago (USA)
  • The University of Illinois (USA)
  • University of Massachusetts Medical School (USA)
  • University of North Carolina (USA)
  • University of Washington (USA)
  • Wake Forest University (USA)
  • Yeshiva University (USA)

United Kingdom and Europe

  • Virtual Physiological Human (VPH) Institute (Belgium)
  • Arhus University (Denmark)
  • Aachen University (Germany)
  • Centre for Free-Electron Laser Science (Germany)
  • Jüelich Research Centre (Germany)
  • Julius Kühn-Institut (Germany)
  • The Philipp University of Marburg (Germany)
  • The University of Kiel (Germany)
  • University of Münster (Germany)
  • University of Rostock (Germany)
  • University of Iceland (Iceland)
  • Dublin City University (Ireland)
  • National Institute of Occupational Health (Norway)
  • Norwegian University of Life Sciences (Norway)
  • Universidad Politécnica de Madrid (Spain)
  • Drugs for Neglected Diseases Initiative (Switzerland)
  • Leiden University (The Netherlands)
  • Maastricht University (The Netherlands)
  • Aston University (UK)
  • Cardiff University School of Medicine (UK)
  • European Bioinformatics Institute (UK)
  • Imperial College London (UK)
  • Nottingham University (UK)
  • The John Innes Centre (UK)
  • University of Cambridge (UK)
  • University College London (UK)
  • University of Manchester (UK)
  • University of Oxford (UK)
  • University of Sheffield (UK)
  • University of Warwick (UK)

Asia Pacific

  • Australian National University (Australia)
  • Burnett Institute (Australia)
  • Children’s Medical Research Institute, Sydney (Australia)
  • La Trobe University (Australia)
  • Macquarie University (Australia)
  • Monash University (Australia)
  • Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre (Australia)
  • The South Australian Research and Development Institute (Australia)
  • The University of Melbourne (Australia)
  • The University of Western Australia (Australia)
  • University of Sydney (Australia)
  • University of Queensland (Australia)
  • Walter and Eliza Hall Institute (Australia)
  • Guangzhou Institute of Biomedicine and Health (China)
  • Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (China)
  • Shanghai Institute of Materia Medica (China)
  • Tsinghua University (China)
  • Osaka University (Japan)
  • Riken Centre for Allergy and Immunology (Japan)
  • Singapore National Imaging Institute (Singapore)
  • Inje University (South Korea)
  • Seoul National University (South Korea)
  • Yonsei University (South Korea)

Middle East

  • Israel Oceanographic and Limnological Research (Israel)